About

Dominique C. Habib is a Quebec visual artist living in the beautiful city of Gatineau. Graduated in Visual and Media Arts as well as Industrial Design, she has a fascination for the world around her on a human scale and for self-observation in the face of life situations, past, present and anticipated, which forge reactions. and personality. She has a strong interest in the subjects of childhood, memory, nature and psychology, which she mainly explores through painting.

Steps

Like human relationships, my practice is organic in nature. My work is the quest for the expression of feelings, memories and moods that shape us through experiences since childhood. My works allegorically address various intangible concepts such as abandonment, shame, confusion, forgiveness, serenity and gratitude.

Alive, my gait has been transformed. If previously I blurred the traces of my involvement in the work by diluting the mediums and letting them follow textured supports, I now leave my touch visible, witness to my interventions. Abstraction is used for its power to express the indefinable, the elusive and combined with the figurative, the observer can better situate himself and appropriate the scene. Through the alliance of these styles, I try to highlight the thin line between the visible and the invisible, between order and chaos as well as the complementarity of opposing forces that build our humanity. Lately, I explore the manipulation of plaster, fabric, wood and embroidery, sculpture and screen printing are also added to my practice.

Each of my works is born from an image, often from waking dreams, and is perceived in a very precise way that it is impossible for me to forget it. These inspirations sometimes find their origin in snippets of everyday life, encounters, anxieties for the future and, of course, childhood memories. Implementation allows for this revealing detachment and the ability to step back from our own emotional history.

photo credit: Abigail Nolet
error:

À propos

Dominique C. Habib est une artiste visuelle québécoise vivant actuellement à Montréal. Diplômée en Arts visuels et médiatiques ainsi qu’en Design industriel, elle a une fascination pour le monde qui l’entoure et pour matérialiser des concepts abstraits en images ou en objets. Elle s’intéresse fortement aux sujets de la nature, de l’enfance et de la psychologie.

Démarche

À l’image des relations humaines, ma pratique artistique est de nature organique. Mon travail est une quête de l’expression des sentiments, des souvenirs et des états d’âme qui nous façonnent à travers les expériences vécues depuis la tendre enfance. Mes œuvres abordent allégoriquement divers concepts intangibles tels le pardon, la paix, la honte, la pitié, la gratitude et le rejet.

Vivante, ma démarche s’est métamorphosée. Si antérieurement je brouillais les traces de mon implication dans l’œuvre en diluant les médiums et en les laissant suivre les supports texturés, je laisse maintenant à la vue ma touche, témoin de mes interventions. J’utilise l’abstraction pour sa force d’exprimer l’indéfinissable, l’insaisissable et en la combinant avec le figuratif, l’observateur peut davantage se situer et s’approprier la scène. Par l’alliance de ces styles, je tente de mettre en valeur la mince ligne entre le visible et l’invisible ainsi que la complémentarité des forces contraires qui construisent notre humanité. À travers la contemplation, le contenu de mes œuvres se livre de lui-même; il ouvre la porte à l’exploration intérieure.

Chacune de mes œuvres naît d’une image, souvent issue de rêves éveillés, et est perçue de manière très précise qu’il m’est impossible de l’oublier. Ces inspirations trouvent parfois origine dans les bribes du quotidien, des rencontres, des angoisses pour le futur et évidemment, des souvenirs d’enfance. La mise en œuvre permet ce détachement révélateur et la capacité de prendre du recul face à notre propre histoire émotionnelle.

crédit photo: Abigaïl Nolet

Mon travail est exposé par la galerie en ligne Gallea.

error: